Australian General Skilled Migration Program

The Australian General Skilled Migration Program is aimed for skilled workers in particular occupations willing to migrate to Australia to improve Australia’s workforce.

Australia Skilled Migration Visas

  • Skilled Independent Subclass 189 Visa

    Permanent visa option, the skilled independent does not require sponsorship by a relative or state/territory government.
  • Skilled Regional Sponsored Subclass 491 Visa

    This is a 5-year provisional visa that requires holders to live, work, and study in regional Australia. You would need to be nominated by an Australian State or Territory government, or sponsored by an eligible Australian relative. The 491 visa replaces the 489.
  • Skilled Nominated Subclass 190 Visa

    A permanent visa requiring nomination by an Australian State or Territory government
General Requirements
  • Aged below 45 at the time of invitation
  • Occupation is in the list of eligible occupations
  • Pass the relevant skills assessment
  • Attain at least 65 points in the Australia General Skilled Migration Points Test
  • Provide evidence of competent English or higher
  • Meet the health and character requirements
  • Free primary and secondary education and subsidized tertiary education
  • Healthcare benefits
  • The right to travel, live and work in New Zealand
  • Pathway to Australian citizenship

To be eligible to apply for the above visas, applicants must first lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) and be invited to apply for skilled migration.

Your occupation must be listed on the Skilled Occupation List.